May 2, 2018-
New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy signed a bill into law on Wednesday requiring employers to provide their workers with earned sick leave. The new law (A1827) allows nearly all workers in the state to accrue one hour of earned sick leave for every 30 hours worked, with employees able to get up to 40 hours of paid time off annually. New Jersey is now the 10th state, plus the District of Columbia, to guarantee paid sick leave.
“This is not just about doing what’s right for workers and their families. This is about doing the right thing for our economy,” Murphy said during a bill signing event at the Trenton War Memorial. The law takes effect in about six months and is expected to benefit roughly 1.2 million workers in the state who currently don’t get paid sick days. Per diem health care employees and construction workers under a collective bargaining agreement are exempt from the law.